Heywood Township Committee

Purpose of committee

The Council’s four Township Committees have become an integral part of the Council's decision-making process, they are some of the most developed area committee in local government. The Council recently approved an approach for developing the role of Township Committees, giving increasing responsibility for budgets and day-to-day delivery of services. The Township Committees now hold responsibility for the delivery of the following Council services:–

  • Environmental Management (excluding Refuse Collection and Recycling and Bereavement Services)
  • Highways and Engineering
  • Community Centres
  • Libraries
  • Development Control
  • Township Funds
  • Leisure Projects - commissioning


The Heywood Township Committee comprises the Members of the Wards (Hopwood Hall, North Heywood, West Heywood) that fall within the boundaries of that Township. The Township Committee meets six times per year, at venues within the Heywood area. Each Heywood Township Committee meeting commences with an Open Forum session, which gives local residents the opportunity to ask questions of their local Members or to raise issues of local concern.


Contact information

Support officer: Alison James. 4711

Phone: 01706 924816