Agenda item

Rochdale Township Delegation Arrangements and Appointments 2018/2019

To consider the Township delegation arrangements and appointments for 2018/2019.


The Township Committee considered a report of the Assistant Director (Legal, Governance and Workforce) which asked that Members confirm the Committee’s delegated decision making arrangements and to make appointments to the Township Sub-Committees, including the Chairs, Vice Chairs and substitute members; the appointment of “lead” opposition spokespersons; and the appointment to various Priority Groups and Other Township Bodies.


Alternatives considered:

The Township Committee could choose not to appoint to sub-committees and undertake all delegated functions themselves, but that this may have a detrimental impact on the ability to progress Township priorities or deal with urgent items of business.



(1) the current Sub-Committee structure of the Rochdale Township Committee comprising of the Rochdale Township Action and Resources Delegated Sub-Committee and the terms of reference, as outlined at Appendix 1 of the submitted report, be approved;

(2) Members be appointed as follows: –

(a)          Rochdale Township Action and Resources Sub-Committee:

Councillors – Shakil Ahmed (Chair), O’Neill (Vice Chair), Zaheer, Farnell, Sheerin, Biant, Sultan Ali, Sullivan and Gartside.

Substitute Members - Councillors Daalat Ali, Heakin, Rana, Howard and Holly;

The opposition spokesperson be Councillor Sullivan;

(b)          The relevant Ward Councillors be appointed to attend their respective Ward Forum;

(c)          Clean and Green Priority Group - Councillors Cocks (Chair), Hornby (Vice Chair), Heakin, Shakil Ahmed, Zaheer, Meredith, Ali Ahmed, Howard and Winkler;

Substitute Members – Councillors Nickson, Biant, Brosnan, Angela Smith and Gartside;

(d)          Communities and Engagement Priority Group – Councillors Rana (Chair), Rashid (Vice Chair), O’Neill, Brosnan, Brett,, Nickson, Ali Ahmed, Angela Smith and Gartside;

Substitute Members – Shakil Ahmed, Farnell, Sheerin, Sullivan and Winkler; 

(e)          Rochdale Regeneration Group – Councillors Sultan Ali (Chair), Biant (Vice Chair), Shakil Ahmed, Zaheer, Farnell, O’Neill, Sheerin, Sullivan and Holly;

Substitute Members – Daalat Ali, Rana, Zaman, Angela Smith, and Winkler;

(f)       Township Older Persons Champion – Councillor Sheerin;

(g)       Township Young Persons Champion – Councillor Meredith;

(h)       Rochdale Township Planning Panel – Councillors Sultan Ali (Chair), Heakin, Brosnan, Brett, Meredith, Sheerin, Cocks, Iftikhar Ahmed, Angela Smith and Gartside;

Substitute members: Councillors Ali Ahmed, Hornby, Sullivan and Holly;  

(3) any amendments to the appointments be delegated to the Chair of the Rochdale Township Committee.



Reasons for the decisions:

The recommendations were presented as the Council has established and appointed Township Committees to undertake certain executive and non-executive powers, as set out in the Responsibility for Council Functions in Part 3 of the Council’s Constitution.  In addition the Township’s Sub-Committee exercises either delegated powers or acts on any matter detailed in the Committee’s Terms of Reference on which it is essential to take a decision. Appointments to the Sub-Committee are made, as far as is possible, in accordance with the Township Committee’s political balance. The proper appointment of Sub-Committees is required to permit the undertaking of delegated functions in accordance with statutory and procedural requirements, and appointments to Working Groups and Other Bodies are required to enable the Township Committee to undertake and to respond to the full range of issues relevant to the Township.

Eligible for Call-in: No.

Supporting documents: